Eating food.

I was late to work this morning because of food.

While I ate breakfast (a Cortland apple and Dubliner cheese, if you want to know) I read food blogs and recipes.  This morning, I was reading Smitten Kitchen’s post about a warm butternut-chickpea salad with tahini dressing.  Now, I’d read this post a few days ago and had already mentally bookmarked it.  Last night, when I finally had a night at home to cook myself a real dinner, I went straight to the butternut squash in my fridge.  Inspired by the recipe but with other ingredients to use up, I sauteed an onion, added some mushrooms, simmered everything in a little dark beer and vegetable broth, and finally added the steamed butternut squash.  A hint of cumin and curry powder and more than a hint of black pepper rounded the whole thing off.  It was delicious.  And I was looking forward to eating the leftovers for lunch today.

But as I re-read the recipe over breakfast, I was reminded of the tahini dressing.  Now, I love tahini.  I love tahini with lemon.  And so I couldn’t leave for work until I pulled out the tahini and lemon and salt and olive oil and made just a tiny bit of sauce to pour over my lunch so that it would be just right.  Really, it’s not the most valid reason to be late to work, but I just couldn’t let it rest.

I should also add that I can’t think of tahini without hearing in my mind’s ear (that just sounds wrong, but it’s true) the satisfying, guttural sound of an Israeli baritone saying “techina.”  “Tekhkhkhkhina.”  Say it to yourself.  It’s delicious.

Leave a comment

Filed under random

Leave a Reply

