Horoscope

I don’t pay much attention to horoscopes. I think they can be fun, and I’m aware that I am a classic Libra, but I don’t take horoscopes very seriously. Still, I enjoyed this prediction that I happened to look up today in a moment of procrastination:

I want to tell you about Harj, a character in Douglas Coupland’s novel Generation A. He’s an enterprising young Sri Lankan man who sells “celebrity room tones” over the Internet. Each hour-long recording purports to convey the sound of the silence that pervades the homes of luminaries like Mick Jagger and Cameron Diaz when they’re not there. I think that you Libras are now primed to learn from Harj’s example. Like him, you have the power to capitalize on nothingness and absence and emptiness.

Do you understand just how much power you have to create the life you want to live in 2010? Are you fully aware of just how much access you have to new resources? …Start brainstorming about the adventures that could be in store for you in the coming months.

Horoscopes are fascinating because they can apply to almost anyone in any situation. They’re like mirrors: people see themselves in them. A well-written horoscope is broad enough that many people can identify with it, but specific enough that it doesn’t strike people as generic. I’ve read descriptions of Libras that perfectly describe me. I’ve also had someone say authoritatively that I’m a perfect Libra, and then recite a list of traits that don’t apply to me at all. So go figure.

Despite my skepticism, I love the horoscope above. I love the idea that I can capitalize on nothingness, that I have the power to live the life I want to in 2010. I believe that’s true. I don’t think it has to do with when I was born or what the stars and planets are up to, but I love those ideas and the potential they hold.

Leave a comment

Filed under random

Leave a Reply

