See you next year.

Me and Mt. Everest.

I’m not usually one to spend the end of December getting all sentimental about the past year. It’s around Rosh Hashanah and Yom Kippur (which fall in September or October) that I look back on the past twelve months, what I’ve done, what I’ve accomplished, and what kind of a human being I’ve been.

But the other day, as I was getting ready to lock up my office for the break, I realized just what a rocking, fabulous year 2010 has been.

I spent a gorgeous week in California with the wonderful people that are my brother and sister-in-law.

I took an online travel writing class and loved it.

I organized a drag king night in New Haven and had a blast performing in drag for the first time in years.

I went to Nepal and rode elephants and lost myself in the swirl of Kathmandu. I went to Tibet, where I walked through countless monasteries and drank yak-butter tea with Buddhist nuns and hiked at Everest Base Camp.

One of my blog posts got Freshly Pressed, and hundreds of people came here and wrote wonderful, supportive comments.

I spent lovely summer hours listening to live music.

I was selected for the 2010 NEA Arts Journalism Institute in classical music and opera, so I got to spend ten blissful days in New York City going to concerts, hearing lectures, attending workshops, and writing about music.

I wrote my first food reviews, and I wrote for new papers and blogs.

I played piano for a new show with a fun, intelligent local theater company.

I opened my first photography exhibit.

And on Sunday, I’m taking off for a trip to the Galapagos Islands. I’m going to ring in the new year with tortoises and lizards and blue-footed boobies.

I’m a lucky, happy gal. And I’ll see you in the new year. (I’ll bring pictures.)

2 Comments

Filed under music, random, travel

2 responses to “See you next year.

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention See you next year. « dana astmann -- Topsy.com

  2. Hooray for a damn good year!

    (Looking forward to the pictures.)

Leave a Reply

