On the role of arts journalism

I wrote the Roundtable column for the January/February issue of The Arts Paper, a paper published by the New Haven Arts Council. The column isn’t on the Arts Council’s website, so I thought I’d post it here in case you’re not able to pick up a copy.

Roundtable:
On the role of arts journalism

I’ve been writing about music for
years, but I had to stop and think when
I was asked recently: Why do we need
arts journalism? The question might have
surprised me less if it hadn’t come from
a career music critic in a room full of
arts writers. Yet it was worth asking: Why
do we need reporters and critics when we
can just go out and enjoy a performance?
In the words of Rocco Landesman, chairman
of the National Endowment for the
Arts: “Informed voices, in whatever media
venue they reside, are critical to the
health and vibrancy of the arts.” Those
informed voices tell us what’s important
in the arts world and why it matters.

To read the rest: click here to download a pdf or here to view a jpg.

4 Comments

Filed under arts, music, random, writing

4 responses to “On the role of arts journalism

  1. Samantha

    Thanks for sharing this… maybe that crazy crit session was the germ of this particular musing? Glad you turned it to the good.

  2. Pingback: Tweets that mention On the role of arts journalism « dana astmann -- Topsy.com

  3. Well said, Dana!

    And thank you for giving me something relevant to think about while I procrastinate on my own review.

Leave a Reply

