Tiny adorable animals that make you squee

After seeing Tiny Adorable Animals That Will Make You Squee, I knew I had to do my own version. I don’t get to hold any precious fuzzballs held in the palm of my hand, and I don’t have any tiny limbs wrapped around my fingers, but I did see a whole lot of baby animals in the Galapagos, and they take my breath away with their fragile beauty.

I don’t know why I’ve felt the need to spend so much time looking at tiny adorable animals. That’s not usually an obsession of mine. I usually spend my interwebs time reading classical music blogs and news, drooling over recipes, catching up on Metafilter, skimming Twitter, and bettering my mind at the New York Times. But lately, I’ve been spending a lot of time with my photos of the Galapagos, and the photos by the people I traveled with (as we start to send each other our pictures). And I love the baby animals.

Maybe I’m trying to bring back the simple happiness of being in a beautiful place, and the thrill of being so close to wild animals that aren’t afraid. Maybe I miss the sunshine, the powdery beaches, the clear turquoise water. Maybe it’s a sign that I don’t entirely lack a maternal instinct. But I think it’s more than that. I think that with everything else going on in the world – particularly in the wake of the shooting of Congresswoman Gabrielle Giffords, Justice John Roll, and so many other people, which has really affected me – I can take comfort in tiny adorable animals. So please forgive my indulgence in the (literally and metaphorically) fluffy. Besides, I’m off to review an opera tonight. That’s intellectual.

These baby sea lions aren’t hold-in-your-hand tiny, but they’re really young.

I’ve already blogged about this baby blue-footed booby, but I adore it. My brother asked on Flickr, “Is this a Muppet?” I think it should be.

This little tortoise was only a few inches long.

This is a little frigatebird, still in the nest, just starting to grow its first dark feathers.

The fluffball on the left will grow up to look like the Nazca booby on the right. Or so they say.

More sea lions. I love how they use their flippers like feet.

This is a penguin. I don’t think it’s a baby, but I don’t care. It is small.

This is a crate full of ducklings at a market in Karakol, Kyrgyzstan.

In the same market was this crate full of chicks. If you could have heard them PEEP, PEEP, PEEPing, and tucked in so close together that they were just one big crate of fluffy baby chickens.

Sorry. I couldn’t help myself.

2 Comments

Filed under photo, travel

2 responses to “Tiny adorable animals that make you squee

  1. Jessica

    oh my goodness ducklings!!! And I do love your perspective on that muppet booby. Very all up in his face.

Leave a Reply

